Your are here : Home / Census Organisation

Census Organisation

The Indian Census is the largest single source of a variety of statistical information on different characteristics of the people of India. With a history of more than 130 years, this reliable, time tested exercise has been bringing out a veritable wealth of statistics every 10 years, beginning from 1872 when the first census was conducted in India non-synchronously in different parts. To scholars and researchers in demography, economics, anthropology, sociology, statistics and many other disciplines, the Indian Census has been a fascinating source of data. The rich diversity of the people of India is truly brought out by the decennial census which has become one of the tools to understand and study India

The responsibility of conducting the decennial Census rests with the Office of the Registrar General and Census Commissioner, India under Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India. It may be of historical interest that though the population census of India is a major administrative function; the Census Organisation was set up on an ad-hoc basis for each Census till the 1951 Census. The Census Act was enacted in 1948 to provide for the scheme of conducting population census with duties and responsibilities of census officers. The Government of India decided in May 1949 to initiate steps for developing systematic collection of statistics on the size of population, its growth, etc., and established an organisation in the Ministry of Home Affairs under Registrar General and ex-Officio Census Commissioner, India. This organisation was made responsible for generating data on population statistics including Vital Statistics and Census. Later, this office was also entrusted with the responsibility of implementation of Registration of Births and Deaths Act, 1969 in the country.

The Census Commissioners from 1881 Census to 1941 Census and thereafter Registrar General and Census Commissioner, India from 1949 onwards are shown below:

Census Commissioners, India Registrar General and Census Commissioners, India
1881   Mr. W. W. Plowden 1949 -       Mr. M W M Yeatts 1989 - 1994   Mr. A. R. Nanda
1891   Mr. J. A. Bains 1949 - 1953   Mr. R. A. Gopalaswami 1994 - 1999    Dr. M. Vijayanunni
1901   Mr. H. H. Risley & E. A. Gait 1958 - 1968   Mr. Asok Mitra 1999 - 2004   Mr. J. K. Banthia  
1911   Mr. E. A. Gait 1968 - 1973   Mr. A. Chandra Sekhar 2004 - 2009   Mr. D.K. Sikri
1921   Mr. J. T. Marten 1973 - 1977   Mr. R. B. Chari 2009 - 2016    Dr. C. Chandramouli  
1931   Mr. J. H. Hutton 1977 - 1983   Mr. P. Padmanabha 2016 - 2019    Shri Sailesh
1941   Mr. M. W. M. Yeatts 1983 - 1989    Mr Vijay S Verma 2019        Dr. Vivek Joshi

The Census Orgnization of India- a family of 33 Nos. Directorate of Census Operations working under the aegis of its Headquarter - Office of the Registrar General & Census Commissioner, India, New Delhi

List of Directorate of Census Operations in India
  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands  10.Gujarat, Daman & Diu and
      Dadra & Nagar Haveli
19. Maharashtra 28. Sikkim
  2. Andhra Pradesh  11. Haryana 20. Manipur 29. Tamil Nadu
  3. Arunachal Pradesh 12. Himachal Pradesh 21. Meghalaya 30. Tripura
  4. Assam 13. Jammu & Kashmir 22. Mizoram 31.Uttar Pradesh
  5. Bihar 14. Jharkhand 23. Nagaland 32. Uttarakhand
  6. Chandigarh 15. Karnataka 24. Orissa 33. West Bengal
  7. Chhattisgarh 16. Kerala 25. Puducherry
  8. Delhi 17. Lakshadweep 26. Punjab
  9. Goa 18. Madhya Pradesh 27. Rajasthan
Contact List of Offices